A couple questions about C integration

Hi there, I’m brand new to Crystal, and looking into it primarily for integrating with C libraries. I’ve put together a couple examples, and I have some questions. Note that it’s not about the implementation (i.e. I know Crystal can puts and upcase), but rather the interaction of data between Crystal and C.

(solved) Q1: How do I link to libraries in a relative path?

Linking against a C library in a relative path, I found that I needed to use __DIR__:

libpath = Path["../hello-world-c/_build"].expand()
linkargs = "-L#{libpath}"

#@[Link(lib: "hello", ldflags: linkargs)] # Error: 'ldflags' link argument must be a String
#@[Link(lib: "hello", ldflags: "-L../hello-world-c/_build")] # ld: error: unable to find library -lhello
@[Link(lib: "hello", ldflags: "-L#{__DIR__}/../hello-world-c/_build")] # SUCCESS
lib LibHello
  fun hello_world = helloWorld()
end

LibHello.hello_world()

(maybe solved?) Q2: How do you work with C strings?

In this next example, I have a C library that upcases a string.

The C library:

int upcase(char *s) {
  while(*s) {
    *s = toupper(*s);
    s++;
  }
  return 1;
}

Crystal:

@[Link(lib: "upcase", ldflags: "-L#{__DIR__}/../upcase-c/_build")]
lib LibUpcase
  fun upcase(name : UInt8*) : UInt32
end

str = String.new("hello crystal\0".to_unsafe)
LibUpcase.upcase(str)
puts str

I think that’s as good as I’m going to get… but I’m curious if others would do it differently.

1 Like

I think my upcase is example is incorrect, or at least exhibits undefined behavior. I say this because String.new(chars : UInt8*) calls LibC.strlen under the hood - meaning that the UInt8* passed to LibUpcase.upcase isn’t guaranteed to be null-terminated. At least, I don’t see anything under the hood that null terminates it.

So I think the correct way looks like this:

lib LibUpcase
end

str = String.new("hello crystal\0".to_slice)
LibUpcase.upcase(str)
puts str[0..-2]