Crystal shard RocksDB memory leak

Hey! I’m a software developer working for Diploid, and only recently started working with Crystal. I’m using RocksDB with the RocksDB shard (https://github.com/maiha/rocksdb.cr) to store and retrieve data. I noticed that the memory usage of the program I wrote using this gem increases over time, leading me to believe I have a memory leak.

Firstly, I tried calling GC.collect in the loop of the program, which didn’t result in any noticeable changes. Then, I created a memory dump using gcore, which seemed to indicate that the used memory contains the values that are returned by the rocksdb_get function. So I ran the program without using rocksdb_get (note that this is not a solution, since it changes the program’s functionality). Doing this indeed avoids the memory usage pattern I saw before, strengthening my believe that I found my culprit. I also tried releasing the string that was returned manually, as described on StackOverflow : Crystal lang, is it possible to explicitly dispose (free) of instance (object) without waiting for GC? - Stack Overflow. This resulted in a segfault. This last thing might be normal behaviour though, as I’m not familiar with Crystal’s GC.

Lastly, I tried using a minimal example. Initialise the database, and input some values. Running this program then results in the same behaviour.

require "rocksdb"
ROCKSDB = RocksDB::DB.new("path/to/rocksdb")
keys = ROCKSDB.keys
loop do
  keys.each do |k|
    puts ROCKSDB.get(k)
  end
  GC.collect
end

First question: Is this indeed a memory leak?
Second question: What can I do about it? If it is a memory leak, what can I do to fix it? If it isn’t, how can I decrease the memory usage of my program? I saw the StackOverflow issue (sorry, can’t post more than 2 links) questions/35304158/binding-glib-into-crystal-lang-gc-issue, but I don’t think the solution is applicable here.