Embeddable / Interoperable with ruby

Crystal is lacking in popularity and the adoption rate is still low. I’m a ruby developer and we need features provided by crystal in our, now larger, codebase, but it’s hard to justify rewriting to Crystal all the business logic that already works. Even extracting parts, that will benefit the most, is hard to justify because Crystal infrastructure and libraries are way less mature than ruby.
That’s why I think that ability to embed Crystal code in ruby projects will significantly benefit Crystal popularity and adoption rate. It will do the same function that Sorbet Compiler: An experimental, ahead-of-time compiler for Ruby · Sorbet do but in a much better and cleaner way

IMHO: it should be just a gem that contains all required glue logic in ruby and Crystal. It should invoke the compiler (or even have it embedded) with appropriate parameters to compile the code to the ruby extension and load the extension. It should just search for *.cr files inside a project and compile them on boot or on require from ruby code
AOT option should also be available.

It should not be fully smooth or transparent, it should be easy to use and understand. It should not try to provide guarantees that are hard to implement and maintain. There is not much need to make Ruby->Crystal and Crystal->Ruby type conversions 100% smooth and compatible. e.g. when a ruby string is passed to Crystal function, it may be just copied to Crystal string and the original can’t be modified in Crystal.
Ruby classes can be represented in Crystal code as generic RbObject class and use method_missing macro to invoke ruby methods. RBS definitions may be used to generate more specific wrappers, but I doubt that it is worth the effort to implement and maintain.
Conversions for the most popular types from the Ruby standard library should be implemented.

# in ruby:
class SomeRubyClass
  def some_method(param)
    param + 42
  end
end