Guidance on floats – defining types using nested macros

Hi everyone! I’m a Crystal newbie looking for some guidance on how to use Floats (same thing goes for Ints, I guess).

I have seen issues such as:

• #8111: [RFC] Simplify integers and floats
  • #6626: [RFC] Let the default integer type depend on the platform
  • #8872: [RFC] Disallow integer/float operations between different types

While writing some code I kept wondering:

• Should I litter my code with “_f32” and “.to_f32” just to save a little bit of memory? (The answer is probably no, as it wouldn’t matter for what I’m doing right now.)
  • Does that make my code a couple of nanoseconds faster?
  • Can I be sure that Float32 is always faster than Float64 on all architectures?
  • Do Crystal’s Float64 work on 32-bit architectures?
  • Would I confuse users of a library by requiring Float32 in the public interface, as Float64 is the default?
  • Would any potential performance gains be far outweighted by conversions between Float32 and Float64?

Sure, I could run some benchmarks, but I’m more asking about the general direction, as the API docs for Float don’t tell me anything such as “In most cases, just use the default and call it a day.” or “You should always use Float32 unless you specifically need Float64.”.

What I’m currently doing is this:
In each source file I’m requiring a “type_macros.cr” file containing a macro that in turn defines macros:

macro mylibrary_type_macros()

# `f(1.0)` => `1.0_f32`.
  #
  private macro f(val)
    \{{val}}_f32
  end

# `to_f(1.0 + 1.0)` => `(1.0 + 1.0).to_f32`.
  #
  private macro to_f(val)
    ( \{{val}} ).to_f32
  end
end

So when you call mylibrary_type_macros() in the top-level scope of
each source file, you end up with the private macros, so their scope is limited to one source file.

An then I have a

macro mylibrary_float_type_alias()
  alias F = Float32
end

in the “type_macros.cr” file that I can call in the main module of my library.