Non-zero padded exponent in float string representation after Ryu implementation

After the implementation of the Ryu algorithm for floating point to string conversation (#14084) released on v1.11, the exponent in the scientific notation is no longer zero-padded if it’s a single digit:

# before
printf("%E", 123.45) # => 1.234500E+02
printf("%E", 123.45e15) # => 1.234500E+17
# after
printf("%E", 123.45) # => 1.234500E+2
printf("%E", 123.45e15) # => 1.234500E+17

Is this intended behavior?, because the official and other implementations of Ryu print zero-padded exponents. Additionally, the few existing specs with zero-padded exponents prior to the change were not ported. This change may impact negatively on a library for computational chemistry that I have been working on for many years, where several file formats use the scientific notation with zero-padded exponents in all examples I know. I cannot estimate the true impact of such change as such files are meant to be read by external (sometimes old) analysis and visualization software.

Is there a way to recover the old behavior with some configuration?

Thanks.

1 Like

I would assume this change was probably unintended. It slipped through.

There’s probably no good reason to break the previous behaviour here, especially when apparently everyone else does it that way as well.

1 Like

This was chosen to be consistent with normal float printing, which too didn’t have the extra zero before Dragonbox was ported:

1e-6         # => 1.0e-6
1e-6.to_s    # => "1.0e-6"
1e-6.inspect # => "1.0e-6"

C scanf and strtof do not require the extra zero. Do you have any concrete example of external software that requires it?