Parsing YAML with dynamic keys

Hi everyone, Crystal noob here :wave:

I’m creating my first Crystal app, a little CLI app that interfaces with a web application that provides a YAML-based API.

I’m trying serialize an API endpoint that returns YAML of the form:

---
item1:
  foo: 1
  barred_at: '2022-01-27T17:00:00Z'
  baz: true
item2:
  foo: 5
  barred_at: '2022-01-27T17:30:00Z'
  baz: false
item3:
  foo: 10
  barred_at: '2022-01-27T17:45:00Z'

using YAML::Serializable.

However as you can see, the top-level keys are dynamic and the examples in the docs all assume static keys. Any pointers on how to handle this use case would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Hash#to_yaml should fit nicely here :slight_smile:

require "yaml"

record Item, foo : Int32, barred_at : Time, baz : Bool do
  include YAML::Serializable
end

data = {
  item1: Item.new(foo: 1, barred_at: Time.parse_iso8601("2022-01-27T17:00:00Z"), baz: true),
  item2: Item.new(foo: 5, barred_at: Time.parse_iso8601("2022-01-27T17:30:00Z"), baz: false),
  item3: Item.new(foo: 10, barred_at: Time.parse_iso8601("2022-01-27T17:45:00Z"), baz: true)
}

puts data.to_yaml

https://carc.in/#/r/cobo

Thanks jhass! Tho sorry if I wasn’t clear, I’m trying to go the other way, i.e. #from_yaml

Works just as well using Hash.from_yaml! :) Carcin

For the record: the proper term for this process would be “deserializing”. I presume that’s what caused the confusion.

Serialization is turning a data structure into a serialized format (a string of characters in this case). Deserialization is the inverse.

Yeah my bad. Thanks for the correction, I did know that, the phrasing in the docs kinda threw me and I had a brainfart.

Actually if you try it with the original YAML file it doesn’t work, it chokes on those times. I think there might be something wrong with our Time::Format::YAML_DATE…

Yeah, I’ve been trying to use #from_yaml but to no avail. I can understand why its failing, but not sure how else to approach it.