Send different pointer structs through Channel and receive the same value

Question

Hi everyone, I am using Crystal Forum for the first time and I am having some tough problems with Crystal.

• i. Send different pointer structs through Channel and receive the same value (Maybe where am I doing wrong?).
  • ii. It seems that in Golang there is no class (only struct), in Crystal Mutex, RWLock, SpinLock seem to be all classes?
  • iii. Even using (pointerof(element).as(UInt8).to_slice(sizeof(typeof(element))).dup), (staged_received_pointer.to_unsafe.as(QueueOutboundElement*).value), Mutex in struct will trigger Invalid Memory Access.
  • iv. Crystal and Golang I’m just a rookie, if I’m wrong, please enlighten me. :slight_smile:

Crystal

@[Packed]
struct QueueOutboundElement
  property test : Int32

def initialize(@test : Int32)
  end
end

staged = Channel(QueueOutboundElement*).new capacity: 128_i32

spawn do
  128_i32.times do
    staged_received_pointer = staged.receive
    STDOUT.puts [staged_received_pointer.value]
  end
end

128_i32.times do
  element = QueueOutboundElement.new Random.new.rand type: Int32
  staged.send value: pointerof(element)
end

loop do
  sleep 1_i32.seconds
end

Golang

peer.queue.outbound = newAutodrainingOutboundQueue(device)
peer.queue.staged = make(chan *QueueOutboundElement, QueueStagedSize)
device.queue.encryption = newOutboundQueue()

func (device *Device) RoutineReadFromTUN() {
	var elem *QueueOutboundElement

for {
		elem = device.NewOutboundElement()
		if peer.isRunning.Load() {
			peer.StagePacket(elem)
			elem = nil
			peer.SendStagedPackets()
		}
	}
}

func (peer *Peer) StagePacket(elem *QueueOutboundElement) {
	for {
		select {
		case peer.queue.staged <- elem: // Put
			return
		default:
		}
		select {
		case tooOld := <-peer.queue.staged:
			peer.device.PutMessageBuffer(tooOld.buffer)
			peer.device.PutOutboundElement(tooOld)
		default:
		}
	}
}

func (peer *Peer) SendStagedPackets() {
top:

for {
		select {