Targeting a bare-metal environment

Hi.

Could someone tell me what aspects of the Crystal toolchain and libraries need to be extended or changed to target a bare metal environment for an existing LLVM supported processor architecture ?

I’m interested in targeting a bare metal Arm AArch64 environment. The aim is to incrementally explore the possible use of Crystal for firmware development as a first step.

The underlying assumptions are that so long as Crystal’s run-time requirements can be met for the bare-metal environment (things like memory allocators, GC aspects, signal/exception handling etc perhaps) and the application or use-case isn’t susceptible to the potential time determinism issues around the use of a GC etc, then the expressiveness of Crystal and it’s type-safety et al can be attractive for systems development.

Any thoughts appreciated.

At present I’m studying Lilith which I think would have had to address similar things.

Cheers

1 Like

Hi again.

Here are some things that I’ve learnt that I’d like to share in case they help someone, along with some additional questions that I have. Would appreciate any insights.

1. Some of the bare-metal crystal experiments I’ve seen so far are:

2. The Lilith strategy (which Stakach re-uses) is to use a modified compiler + custom allocator + custom conservative mark and sweep garbage collector + custom prelude. The allocator and the GC are a part of the OS kernel which IIUC links against the compiler library.

• Some compiler modifications are to do with introducing a Markable class which dynamic types (such as Array and Hash) are made to inherit from. This class introduces scaffolding that helps the custom GC do its marking action.

• Other compiler modifications are to do with making certain symbols accessible by the OS kernel (such as where the globals reside) which are then used by the custom GC.

• And then there’s the custom prelude which re-implements most of the language primitives.