To_s in classes as default for its objects

In Ruby if you provide a to_s method in your classes it will be default method to convert its objects to strings like below.

class Myclass
  def to_s ... end
end

exmpl = Myclass.new
puts "put something here #{exmpl}"

In Crystal I have to do this with my class to_s to get what I want.

puts "put something here #{exmpl.to_s}"

I’ve read the docs, but don’t see how to not write #{exmpl.to_s} and just write #{exmpl}.

You want to override to_s(io : IO) then write the string content to that io.

1 Like

Could you give an example. I couldn’t get it to work.

def to_s(io : IO)
  io << "My class"
end

https://carc.in/#/r/8z90

Thanks. (Better docs explanations and examples needed.)

(Better docs explanations and examples needed.)

I read a lot of complaints against the documentation lately, but personally I found it quite useful and pleasant to browse (even though I have no Ruby knowledge).

In this particular case, here is an excerpt from the String page in the reference manual:

Interpolation is implemented using a String::Builder and invoking Object#to_s(IO) on each expression enclosed by #{…}.
The expression “sum: #{a} + #{b} = #{a + b}” is equivalent to:

String.build do |io|
  io << "sum: "
  io << a
  io << " + "
  io << b
  io << " = "
  io << a + b
end

And it’s also mentioned here:

In Crystal, puts will invoke to_s(io) on the object, passing it the IO to which the string representation should be written.

When writing custom types, always be sure to override to_s(io) , not to_s , and avoid creating intermediate strings in that method.

Followed by an extensive example.

2 Likes

Where would you expect that documentation to be? What’s necessary to make it better?

As @elbywan already said, this is mentioned in several places in the language reference. It’s also explained in the API docs for Object#to_s.

1 Like