Why so big differences?

First, I’m not a developer. I have a shallow knowledge about programming so please be patient with me.

Second, yeah, English isn’t my first language. Not even second.

My question is why are there big differences in timings between these three functions implementing Sieve of Eratosthenes when the main difference is the indexing style(?). I’m sorry if this a very noob question. I don’t really know when to use which style. It would be great if you can point me to a “Crystal Tips and Tricks” page.

PS: I ran these in my Realme 9 pro (Snapdragon 695, 6/128) through termux. Crystal 1.11.2.

require "bit_array"

def sieve_1(limit : UInt32) : BitArray
    is_prime = BitArray.new(limit + 1, true)
    is_prime[0] = is_prime[1] = false

is_prime.each_index.skip(4).step(2).each { |i| is_prime[i] = false }
    (3..Math.isqrt(is_prime.size - 1)).each.step(2).select{ |x| is_prime[x] }.each do |i|
    is_prime.each_index.skip(i*i).step(2*i).each { |j| is_prime[j] = false }
    end

is_prime
end
def sieve_2(limit : UInt32) : BitArray

(4...is_prime.size).each.step(2).each { |i| is_prime[i] = false }
    (3..Math.isqrt(is_prime.size - 1)).each.step(2).select{|x| is_prime[x]}.each do |i|
    (i*i...is_prime.size).each.step(2*i).each { |j| is_prime[j] = false }
    end

is_prime
end
def sieve_3(limit : UInt32) : BitArray

4.step(to: is_prime.size - 1, by: 2).each { |i| is_prime[i] = false }
    3.step(to: Math.isqrt(is_prime.size - 1), by: 2).select{|x| is_prime[x]}.each do |i|
    (i*i).step(to: is_prime.size - 1, by: 2*i).each {|j| is_prime[j] = false}
    end

is_prime
end

elapsed = Time.measure do
   puts sieve_1(10u32**7).each.count{ |x| x}
end
puts elapsed
   puts sieve_2(10u32**7).each.count{ |x| x}
end
puts elapsed
   puts sieve_3(10u32**7).each.count{ |x| x}
end
puts elapsed