Cross-compiling from Mac to Mac?

What is required to build an app that would work on all variants of macOS (for Intel, M1 and M2 chips, for instance) ?

Alternatively, is it required to recompile the app written in Crystal for all those platforms (respectively on each one of those platforms) ?

We are currently building the compiler for macOS using omnibus, bundling arm64 and x86_64 binaries together in a universal build. You can find the details in the distribution-scripts repository, in particular the ./darwin and ./omnibus folders. Note: it’s not trivial. You can also take a look into the specific commit that brought the universal build.

1 Like

So, I suppose I cannot simply use a specific command line option to generate a universal build.

Not at the moment. Note that you need the dependencies to be multi-platform too.

2 Likes

Not sure if your insinuating that, but I don’t think omnibus plays any particular role for this.

I’m not an expert on macOS but as far as I understand it, the process is technically relatively straight forward: You build two exectuables, one for x86_64 and one for aarch64, and then merge them together with lipo. Cross-compiling should be possible from either architecture to the other, so you can do all on a single machine. The tricky part is that you also need two versions of all the libraries.

1 Like

Yes, I was just pointing out that the scripts for omnibus contained the details.

1 Like

@straight-shoota is 100% correct. lipo will create a universal/fat binary for multiple architectures. I’ve got an old script combine.sh on my machine which I used to use to merge PPC and Intel binaries about 15 years ago:

#!/bin/bash

path=`pathname $1`
base=`basename $path`

if [ -e $path ]; then
	echo lipo -arch ppc /P$path -arch i386 $path -create -output combo/$base
	     lipo -arch ppc /P$path -arch i386 $path -create -output combo/$base
else
	echo cannot find $1
fi

You can see that crystal is distributed as a universal