How to setup a pipe to a long running process?

cmd = "bash"
args = "-i"
reader,writer = IO.pipe
pp writer
p1 = Process.new(cmd, shell: false, input: writer, output: reader)
pp p1
sleep 2
writer.puts "pwd"
sleep 2
puts reader.gets
sleep

#<Process:0x7f09a79f3fc0
 @channel=nil,
 @error=nil,
 @input=nil,          # why is input nil here ?
 @output=nil,
 @pid=15373,
 @wait_count=0,
 @waitpid=#<Channel(Int32):0x7f09a79f3c80>>

Please learn to use markdown code blocks and preserve indentation while copy pasting code. Your code posts tend to be really hard to read.

Process.run with a block sets up pipes for you by default:

Process.run("ls", args: {"/"}) do |proc|
  puts proc.output.gets
end

If you set them explicitly, Process does not bother to retain a reference to them, you passed one in, so you got it already! Just reuse your writer variable.

Ok, I will try to write better readable postings.

I have some experience with Process.run and the default pipes.
My issue is that I want to use STDIN and STDOUT in the main process,
and at the same time use a pipe for communication with a spawned long running process like an interactive shell session(“bash -i”).

• I do not want that STDIN and STDOUT is piped to the spawned process, therefore I want to setup an explicit additional pipe which uses its own filedesrciptors. The main process still needs to read from the original STDIN. So somehow I want to pass filedescriptors to process.new or process.run.

This is the case with above code. STDIN is still the original in the block.

You may need to spawn a fiber and communicate to it through a Channel if you want to read from the process and STDIN at the same time rather than on a back and forth kind of basis.

I got my shell wrapper working by using socat or python to achieve a sort of PTY session. Is there a way in crystal to fake/spawn a PTY ? This wrapper can be used to talk to any process STDIN which is normally used in a terminal session.