Ktistec - an ActivityPub Server

I’m posting this here for project feedback.

Ktistec is an ActivityPub server. I’ve gotten it to the point where it meets my needs – it federates with Mastodon and most other mature servers, it handles posting, following, sharing/boosting/announcing, liking, etc. and it performs well. I’ve been running it in production at Epiktistes for ~6 months with no real snags. I’m interested in your thoughts on what it needs.

Note: a few limitations are features – it’s not intended to support large numbers of users, and it’s not designed to support databases other than SQLite. It is meant to be the perfect home for a single-user in the Fediverse.

Thanks!

12 Likes

Very cool! I’ve been meaning to try and find time for an ActivityPub implementation in crystal, so great that you’re bringing it to the ecosystem.

I’d love to read a blog post or something a bit more in-depth about the development process.

1 Like

Wow, good job! I’m surprised to see an ActivityPub related project in Crystal…plus you’re using Kemal :slight_smile: Keep up the good work.

2 Likes

Thanks! Kemal has been perfect for this project. That and Spectator are my two most relied upon projects is Crystal-land.

2 Likes

Nice project!

I once tried to implement ActivityPub in Go… not a great succes :sweat_smile:

Is there a way to use your project as a lib? Like using the part that talks ActivityPub, sends and receives messages, without the UI. This could be useful to make any project talks ActivityPub.