Having a blast with Crystal đź’Ż

Just wanted to share some of my experiences lately working with Crystal. I’ve been working on a web app the past couple weeks and, even though I’ve been using Crystal for about 6 years now, I’m still blown away by how easy it can be to make code simple to read and write. Writing an integration test via a session-aware layer on top of HotTopic is pretty slick. A simple one looks like this:

it "gets notifications" do
  user = UserFactory.create
  notification = NotificationFactory.create(user: user)
  session = new_session(user) # No need to stub a whole login process when you can set the active user directly on the session

response = session.get("/notifications")
  response.should have_http_status :ok
  response.should have_html notification.title # there's also `have_json(foo: "bar")` for API requests
end

Others are more involved and handle interacting with the page similar to Capybara in Ruby (things like session.click_link "Foo"). I’ll extract that into a shard soon.

The most amazing part of it for me is that, even when my integration tests do multiple requests, run a dozen or more DB queries, load sessions from/save them to Redis, etc, they’re still executing in 2-3ms each on average. The simple one above averages ~1.2ms, even with hundreds of thousands of rows in every table in the test DB (I usually avoid cleaning out test DBs to expose query-performance issues with production-level volumes of data). :exploding_head:

This is such a huge departure from my experiences with Ruby on Rails where a single integration test in so many Rails apps I’ve worked on took anywhere from hundreds of milliseconds to multiple seconds each, even when they don’t invoke a headless browser. So to see them taking 2-3ms on average is mind-blowing.