Introduction - new to the community

Hello Crystal community.

I am Jimmie from Texas, USA. I am not a professional programmer, but have been programming for over 25 years. So yes, I am toward the older side of this group. :slight_smile:
Husband, father, grandfather of a big family.

I am a long time Linux user. My first programming language was Prograph CPX. My first Python was 1.6. But for most of my time I was comfortably using Squeak/Pharo for 20 or so years. If Pharo performed as well as Crystal, I would still be there. But I need very good performance and do not want the trouble of Pharo + FFI. That is beyond the level of skill and learning that I have time for.

I never used Ruby because I never saw an advantage over Pharo.

I have done numerous language micro-benchmarks for the sweet spot of my app which is heavy in large arrays, array access and math. C was generally the winner. But I do not want to write C. Java was close. Python/Numpy performed admirably. But I just struggle greatly with Python. I bang my head to often in what seem to me from an OO side to be inconsistencies in the language. Strong contenders also were Nim and Julia.

I have written a fair portion of my app in both Pharo, Nim, Julia and Python. I have been exploring languages for years looking for the one that hits the sweet spot. Comfortable to think in and write in. Good performance. Reasonable file and memory sizes. Ability to create nice binaries and deploy is a big win.

I had somewhat been watching Crystal for a few years. I had tried it out a few years ago. But Crystals maturity at that time and my skill set did not work out. I recently saw Crystal reach the 1.0 status and decided to give it a try again.

I most recently been porting my Pharo app (the most mature version of it in any language) to Julia. Julia is an interesting language and hits many sweet spots. But also fails on a few.