Looking for data scientists (or anyone) interested in using Crystal

I’ve been having a blast learning crystal, and I would love to have actively maintained data science tools written in crystal. I am looking for people to help me with that task.

There are a couple libraries that do basic calculations, but none seem to be active.

Primary short term goals:

• Maintain a data visualization library written in crystal (aquaplot)
  • Create a library to handle data analysis on one dimensional data (similar to a pandas Series, or an R vector), backed with LAPACK / BLAS
  • Extend the library to handle analysis on two dimensional data

My primary limitation right now is that I am still learning the internals of the language, so even if you aren’t interested in the more dense scientific computing, but would help with code review / refactoring, I would love all the help I can get!

6 Likes

Hi, very nice goals! I’m personally not really interested in the scientific side, but I always love seeing nice graphics :stuck_out_tongue:

I (and many other people here in the forum and in the gitter/IRC chat) can also help with reviewing!

I’d suggest making a separate post asking for review, to avoid many unrelated messages about your code and “hiding” relevant reply to your “call-to-data-scientists”…

If you make a separate post, I’ll move the following :point_down: to it to cleanup this thread!

A quick look at a file led me to https://github.com/crystal-data/aquaplot/blob/1fd38eb23cf513dd7554ab3f6207a8c7ce13cd41/src/plot/base.cr where you do:

class Foo
  property some_field : TheType
  # ...

# Then a manual getter and setter
  def get_some_field
    # get the public value for @some_field
    @some_field.some_internal_value
  end

def set_some_field(@some_field)
  end
end

This can be simplified to:

class Foo
  @some_field : TheType
  # ...

# Then a manual getter and setter
  def some_field
    # get the value for @some_field with some operation...
  end