Greetings from Garance

I’ve been quiet on gitter and github-issues lately, but I am still following the progress of crystal as I have the time to. I’m pulled in too many different directions!

So let’s see if I did this right…

3 Likes

I see other people have written real introductions, so here’s a little bit about me.

I started programming many years ago as a college student on an IBM mainframe. I ended up doing systems-level programming, and was hired by the college I had attended (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York, USA). Eventually our mainframe replaced by Unix workstations, and later by Windows-based PC’s and Macs. The majority of our faculty, staff, and students have used Windows for the last 20 years. However I’ve done almost nothing on Windows.

Programming-wise, I did have a few days of programming in Basic in high school. Literally just a few days, during the last month of my senior year. In college I worked with IBM 370 assembler, Fortran, Algol, Snobol, Spitbol, LISP, PL/1, XPL, and even APL. Possibly a few more. I started full-time work as a systems programmer, and we had our own operating system (we did not use VM/CMS or MVS from IBM, even though we always had IBM mainframes). Most of that work was in 370-assembler, although we also had our own custom language called *Plus. It was designed to be a systems-programming language like C, except that it was geared towards IBM architectures, and looked a lot more like Algol or Pascal than C. We also had some other languages that I’m sure no one here has ever heard of. One interesting thing about *Plus was that it was the first serious language I worked in which was so committed to structured programming that it had no ‘goto’ command. Pretty boring now, but kinda daring at the time.